30 May 2016

EBOD Examination


EBOD 2015 Press Release



General Information


The European Board of Ophthalmology Diploma (EBOD) Examination is a test of excellence in ophthalmology.
It is designed to assess the knowledge and clinical skills requisite
to the delivery of a high standard of ophthalmologic care both in hospitals and in independent clinical practices.

The EBOD is the responsibility of the Education Committee of the EBO. The first examination was held on June 26-27, 1995, in Milan, Italy. Thereafter, the examination has taken place every year in Paris, France. There are usually candidates from all over Europe. The pass rate has been stable over the past years (around 90 percent). The EBOD Examination in most countries of the European Union is voluntary. However, some countries like Switzerland and Belgium have replaced their own National Specialist Examination by the EBOD Examination. The successful candidate may add the title Fellow of the European Board of Ophthalmology (FEBO) after his or her name.

Please note, all payments for the 2014 exam will be processed in early January 2014 so please ensure all bank transfers have been completed by then.


The FEBO Title

Those ophthalmologists who have acquired the
EBO Diploma (either by taking and succeeding
in the Diploma Examination or by fulfilling the
ad eundem
criteria) can, and are encouraged to,
add the title Fellow of the European Board of Ophthalmology (FEBO) after their name.

Catherine Creuzot, MD, FEBO